LONDON—Ishanguly Meretnyyazov was expelled after he refereed a match between Azeri boxer Magomed Abdulhamidov and Japan’s Satoshi Shimizu. Adbulhamidov was declared the winner of the match, despite being knocked down six times in one round by his opponent. Meretnyyazov was also criticized for giving the Azeri boxer too much time to recover. International amateur boxing rules say that a fight must be stopped after three knock downs in one round.
The incident angered spectators and commentators alike, as well as the Japanese boxer who immediately appealed the ruling. The International Boxing Association (AIBA) overturned the initial outcome in favor of Shimizu and expelled Meretnyyazov.
On the same day the AIBA also expelled an Azerbaijani technical official, Aghajan Abiyev for allegedly communicating with his home team, thus breaking his contract with Olympic officials.
The double expulsion immediately gave way for renewed speculation that the boxing officials were on the take.
The BBC reported that the WSB chief claimed the money was paid to guarantee that Azeri boxers would win two gold medals at the London Olympics.
AIBA is the international governing body for boxing, which is recognized by the International Olympic Committee. World Series Boxing, a franchised league of professional boxing, is one of the organization’s partners.
The BBC reported that WSB Chief Operating Office, Ivan Khodabakhsh, had discussed a secret deal to secure funding from Azerbaijan in return for guarantees that Azeri boxers would win gold medals at the Olympics.